Q & A from the cinema5D forum

The following is some Q & A from www.cinem5d.com.  Thought I’d pass along some of these exchanges from the past couple of days in case you may have had the same questions or to further your knowledge about ikan products.

Ikan 8″ LCD or 40″ HDTV w/ BluRay DVD Player

Postby ocfilms on 23 Jul 2009 19:04

B and H has the Ikan V8000HDMI-C LCD Monitor Kit for $1,049
on the other hand, Best Buy has the Samsung 40″ 1080p LCD HDTV on sale for $799!! And with the difference, I can buy a Samsung BluRay DVD player!  Do expensive field monitors make that much of a difference? I mean, I’ve always shot with a $300 Varizoom and all of my videos came out sharp.  But a tiny monitor costing as much as a 40+ LCD or Plasma? with 1080p? really?

Postby ikan on 12 Aug 2009 12:33

The key here is application and portability. The Samsung is designed to be mounted on the wall and receive a couple of signals. The assumption from the manufacturer is once you mount their monitor, it stays in place. The inputs are designed with the assumption that once you connect your components, they will also stay fixed. If you have the manpower to lug a 40 inch consumer monitor, mount it for viewing with your camera and also power the unit remotely, then by all means, go with the 40 inch. However, if it’s just you or even you and a few other people, and your going to a location that is outdoors, or you simply going to be breaking the gear down and setting it up on a consistent basis, the Samsung will become more trouble than it’s worth. Also, the constant wear and tear on the connections will begin to affect its performance.

Our ikan monitors are built for the field. We take extra care to ensure you connect them to a variety of power sources and still get consistent performance. We assume our users will be connecting and reconnecting the devices thousands of times, and we build them with that in mind. You can go with a standard definition monitor, and these are great for framing. However, where focus is critical, you will need a high def monitor, and our ikan monitors are the most cost effective solution for the serious shooter.

___________

ikan V7000 7″ anyone?

Postby ocfilms on 01 Aug 2009 00:18

Does anybody have this monitor?

do you guys know if it would work well with the Canon 5DM2? reason I ask is because I really like the price :)

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/6 … n_LCD.html

http://www.ikancorp.com/pages/monitors/ … /index.htm

Re: ikan V7000 7″ anyone?

Postby khemera777 on 01 Aug 2009 03:04

I don’t have that but it looks like it is not even an HD monitor. You need an HD monitor to work with the focus with any HD camera. Any SD monitor is worthless in critical focusing for HD cameras. I sold my SD monitor and got the 1st generation Ikan V8000HD. Now, thinking of selling my v8000HD to get an HDMI monitor. If you’re interested, take a look. http://redrockmicro.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7392. FYI, my v8000HD is HD component and has no HDMI (that’s why I’m selling it so I can get an HDMI one to work with my 5d mark II) so if you’re looking to use it with 5d mark II or any HDMI input camera, it’s not what you want.

Postby ikan on 12 Aug 2009 10:18

khemera777 wrote:I don’t have that but it looks like it is not even an HD monitor. You need an HD monitor to work with the focus with any HD camera. Any SD monitor is worthless in critical focusing for HD cameras. I sold my SD monitor and got the 1st generation Ikan V8000HD. Now, thinking of selling my v8000HD to get an HDMI monitor. If you’re interested, take a look. http://redrockmicro.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7392. FYI, my v8000HD is HD component and has no HDMI (that’s why I’m selling it so I can get an HDMI one to work with my 5d mark II) so if you’re looking to use it with 5d mark II or any HDMI input camera, it’s not what you want.

Instead of selling your HD – we can offer you a trade in on a new HDMI. Please contact me directly at 713-272-8822, and we can help you get into a new HDMI. Regarding the 7000 – it’s true it’s not HD. However, for framing purposes it could work as the the 5D does have composite out – V7000 uses composite. However, my greatest suggestion, if you’re going to get an monitor and focus is your goal — then go with either the V8000HDMI or the V5600 which is less expensive.

____________

Postby jeffnewton on 11 Aug 2009 19:08

Hello, I have two questions on the Ikan 5600. I DP’d a short yesterday with the 5D and used the 5600 as my field monitor. One thing I noticed is that I would do the critical focusing with the 5D’s LCD and then I would plug in the HDMI cable and the focus would be way off. And I hadn’t touched the follow focus at all? This happened numerous times. I would then have to refocus with the monitor but would always have to unplug afterwards and check that it was actually in focus? Has anyone else ever run into this problem.

Also, are there recommended settings for the brightness/contrast/etc of the screen. The screen definitely seemed a bit contrasty compared to the LCD. I don’t, of course, expect it to match exactly but I want to know that my exposure is on without having to constantly unplug and then reconnect.

Thanks, Jeff

Re: Focus issues with the Ikan 5600

Postby ikan on 12 Aug 2009 09:48

It’s difficult to answer some of our question here because I can’t see what’s happening with your set up. I’ve talked with our engineers, and they are not aware of a problem like you describe. However, there is an inconsistency with the 5D monitor and any external device. The reason why most people want one of our monitors is not only to have a larger image, but to have one that is more correct. It seems the monitor 5D is giving false reads in regards to focus. My advice, shoot some footage using the focus on the 5D monitor. Then shoot the same thing using our monitor, and once you load the footage — see which is in focus. I’ll be it its the footage you shoot with the ikan monitor.

In regards to the contrast, we allow the user to have control over the contrast so you can adjust for different lighting situations. Obviously, when it’s dark, you’ll want the contrast set differently then when it’s light. Please feel free to contact me directly at 713-272-8822, and we can trouble shoot your issue.

Best,
Clint

~ by Clint Milby on August 13, 2009.

2 Responses to “Q & A from the cinema5D forum”

  1. good article

  2. Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is
    **samsung pn50b650** blog. It pretty much covers ###Best HDTV## related stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
